Minutes:   October 22, 2001

State Board of Education V-TEL Rooms

Members Present

Senator Art Berman
Tom Boyle
Dean Clark
Anne Davis
Bert Docter
Kay Giles
Rep. Carolyn Krause
Robert Leininger
Hazel Loucks
Senator Lisa Madigan
Bob Mandeville
Bob Nielsen
Ken Gotsch (for Arne Duncan)
Marlies Trove

Members Absent

Doug Delaney
Senator Doris Karpiel

Chairman Leininger called the meeting to order at 10:00 a.m. The Chairman introduced the presenters below and they discussed the fiscal condition of the State for Illinois. A question and answer period occurred during each presentation.

Economic and Fiscal Commission

Department of Revenue

Taxpayers Federation/Civic Federation

Bureau of the Budget

The Chairman thanked each individual for making a presentation to the board and for providing this critical information.

Carmen Chapman Pfeiffer addressed the Board on the proposed standards for new Education Accountability Process (proposed School Designation System).

The meeting was adjourned at 4:00 p.m. Copies of materials distributed at the meeting are posted on the EFAB Website.