Performance Definitions

The standard-setting procedure begins with the establishment of basic definitions of what students should know and be able to do at a given performance level. These are based on the Illinois Learning Standards that are measured by the Illinois Standards Achievement Test (ISAT) and the Prairie State Achievement Examination (PSAE).

Educators wrote performance definitions for reading, writing, mathematics, science, and social science for each of the following four levels: Exceeds Standards, Meets Standards, Below Standards, and Academic Warning. These draft performance definitions were then distributed throughout the state for review and comment. The resulting definitions were used as the foundation for determining the three cut points (Exceeds/Meets, Meets/Below, and Below/Academic Warning) for ISAT and PSAE during the standard-setting process.

Bullet Item ISAT Performance Definitions

PSAE Performance Definitions

return to top

return to ISAT page

return to PSAE Page