ISBE Banner
State of Illinois - Governor Blagojevich 

  ECS  |  CeRTS  |  IWAS | Teachers  | Students  | Administrators   | Student Assessment  | IL Learning Standards  | Programs | FormsGlossary


For Immediate Release
February 18, 2005

Illinois State Board of Education announces Mathematics and Science Partnership grants

SPRINGFIELD, IL – The Illinois State Board of Education has announced more than $5.2 million in educational grant awards for 20 partnership projects in Illinois. The awards are part of the 2005 Illinois Mathematics and Science Partnerships (IMSP) program, a highly competitive grant program designed to enhance the content knowledge and teaching skills of classroom teachers.

The unique partnerships were designed to increase the academic achievement of students in mathematics and science by improving teacher quality. IMSP programs offer additional training for nearly 1000 teachers in more than 130 districts and require participants to attend two-week institutes this summer and four follow-up sessions during the 2005-2006 school year. Participating teachers become part of a statewide research team and test their new learning in the classroom.

“These grants provide great professional development opportunities for teachers,” said Randy Dunn, State Superintendent of Education. “They bring together knowledge and technology with the ultimate goal of creating exciting learning experiences for students. The expertise and enthusiasm that each partner brings to the table is carried through to classrooms and, most importantly, to kids.”

The grants are federally funded through Title II, Part B of the No Child Left Behind Act. Many of the programs receive recommendations for multiple-year funding, pending continued federal appropriation and program success.

The Illinois program includes a special evaluation component to be coordinated through Northern Illinois University. The partnership provides evaluation advice and analysis for decision-making in mathematics and science efforts.

Partnerships supported by this year’s grants are:

  • Chicago Academy of Sciences, the Peggy Notebaert Nature Museum and the University of Illinois at Chicago with 20 elementary teachers from Chicago;
  • Blackburn College, Hurst Rosche Engineering Company, Christian-Montgomery Regional Office of Education (ROE) and ROE #40 for Calhoun, Greene, Jersey and Macoupin Counties with 50 teachers from 24 districts and the two Regional Safe Schools;
  • DePaul University Master of Science degree program with 25 public and private Chicago area middle school teachers;
  • Des Plaines Community Consolidated School District #62, National Louis University, Oakton Community College, Des Plaines Chamber of Commerce and the North Cook Intermediate Service Center with 48 teachers from three school districts;
  • East Richland School District #1 in Olney, local district parents, Eastern Illinois University, Southern Illinois University and the Illinois Department of Natural Resources to expand their existing partnership with the Embarrass River Management Association;
  • Eastern Illinois University and Southern Illinois University in Edwardsville with 30 elementary teachers, mentored by colleagues from their own middle or high schools;
  • Staff from the Mt. Vernon office of the Hamilton-Jefferson Regional Office of Education, with 45 teachers from 11 districts;
  • Joliet District #86, St. Francis University, Argonne Laboratory, UC Yerkes and Joliet Park District with 40 teachers from seven elementary and middle schools;
  • Kankakee Community College, Olivet Nazarene, Bunge Oil, Cognis Corporation, Texas Instruments, Riverside Health and St. Mary’s Hospital with 30 teachers from 21 school districts;
  • Lee-Ogle Regional, Rock Island Offices of Education (ROE), Northern Illinois University and Western Illinois University with area teachers;
  • Loyola University Center for Science and Math Education with 24 middle schools from Chicago Public Schools;
  • Northern Illinois University, with 40 teachers from the Glen Ellyn and Addison School Districts and 20 teachers from the Aurora East School District;
  • Proviso Township, Loyola University Departments of Chemistry and Physics, University of Illinois-Chicago Departments of Mathematics, Statistics and Computer Science and Texas Instruments with 60 teachers from six school districts working toward advanced certification in mathematics and science;
  • Richland 88A, Illinois State University, Argonne National Laboratory and Texas Instruments with Lockport Consortium of Schools high school district and seven elementary districts;
  • St. Clair and the Monroe-Randolph Regional Offices of Education, Missouri Botanical Gardens, Camp Wartburg and Lindenwood University with 60 teachers from 18 districts;
  • Southern Illinois University in Edwardsville and Boeing Corporation with 30 Collinsville teachers;
  • The Teachers Academy of Mathematics and Science in Chicago, National Louis University and Governor’s State University with 35 math teachers from five school districts;
  • University of Chicago, Yerkes Observatory and Will County Regional Office of Education with 24 teachers;
  • Regional Office of Education in Ullin, Regional Offices of Franklin/Williamson Counties and Jackson/Perry Counties, Shawnee Community College and Southern Illinois University in Carbondale with 75 teachers; and
  • Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy in Aurora, Illinois Institute of Technology and Warren Township District #121 High School District in Gurnee.

Illinois State Board of Education
100 North First Street
Springfield, IL 62777