THE COMMISSION CONNECTION

February 2018



KUDOS CORNER



Dr. Blondean Davis, of Matteson District 162, Earns 2018 ...

Bulletin Board: A Post From the Community | RICHTON PARK, ILL.-February 21, 2018-- Dr. Blondean Y. Davis, superintendent of Matteson School District 162 and CEO of Southland College Prep Charter High School, received the AASA School...

Read more www.chicagotribune.com

Horizon Science Academy - McKinley Park Robotics Team Advances to the State Championship



The team also brought home additional awards won based on motivation, inspiration, rigor, and sportsmanship.



Southland College Prep Charter High School Wins IHSA...

Bulletin Board: A Post From the Community | RICHTON PARK, ILL.-February 17, 2018-Southland College Prep Charter High School placed first in the Performance in the Round section of the Illinois High School Association's State Tim McGill, WGN Weather Guy, visits the Kindergarten Class at Prairie Crossing Charter School



Tim McGill

Modeling the nice jacket I got from Prairie Crossing Charter School. Thanks again!

Read more www.facebook.com Speech tournament for ...

Read more www.chicagotribune.com

Betty Shabazz International Charter School Helps Set Box Office Records



'Black Panther' Sets Records as Crowds Pack Theaters...

As she clutches her movie ticket for a 7 p.m. showing, 9-year-old Akeelah Jaco is beaming. She has yet to see a minute of footage of Black Panther, but she already knows something about the film. "There's a black superhero. There's a lot of...

Read more www.voanews.com



Artist examines black womanhood in '100 Acts of Resistance'

Midway through her performance, Lynsey Ann Moxie stopped the music and spoke directly to the audience. As a black woman and artist, she said that it was time for her to be vulnerable. Moxie sang, danced and recited poetry as part of "100 Acts of...

Read more dailynorthwestern.com

ANOTHER LEGAL VICTORY FOR THE COMMISSION



Judge sides with Waukegan charter school in lawsuit...

The Waukegan District 60 school board is leaning against challenging an appellate court ruling that allows a local charter school to continue operating. The unanimous decision handed down last month by a panel of three appellate judges gives...

Read more www.chicagotribune.com

WHAT'S NEW AT THE COMMISSION



NEW COMMISSIONER MELISSA CONNELLY

Welcome to newly appointed Commissioner Melissa Connelly, Chief Program Officer of OneGoal.

For more information on Commissioner Connelly, click here.

This month, the Commission hosted two public hearings as part of the Charter Appeal Process. The Commission will vote on appeal decisions at it next scheduled meeting on Tuesday, March 20th.





2016-17 Annual Reviews are Underway

Annually, a school's progress is measured by the analysis of the school's academic performance, financial performance and organizational performance.

The assessment is then compiled into an **Annual Performance Review Report** which is an essential authorizing practice for effective oversight, communication with schools, and public accountability and transparency.

UPCOMING DATES AND EVENTS

March 6, 2018 Operations Committee Meeting 11AM

Schools Committee Meeting 3PM

160 North LaSalle Street Room N502 Chicago, IL 60601

March 15, 2018 4th Quarter Enrollment Certification forms due



March 20, 2018 Commission Meeting 3PM 160 North LaSalle Street 5th Floor Auditorium Chicago, IL 60601

ISBE INFORMATION



Illinois State Board of Education Message from State Superintendent Tony Smith, click <u>here.</u>

OPPORTUNITIES

The Illinois State Charter School Commission is seeking an Administrative Analyst. Click <u>here</u> for more information.





Elgin Math & Science Academy is building their founding team. Click on the link below to find out more.

https://elginmathandscience.com/join-our-team/

STATE CHARTER SCHOOL COMMISSION

Illinois State Charter School Commission 160 N. LaSalle Street, Suite 601 Chicago, Illinois 60601 312-814-1258 <u>SCSC.CommissionSchools@illinois.gov</u> DeRonda Williams, Commission Chair Dr. Catherine Burns, Vice Chair Bill Farmer, Secretary Melissa Connelly David Feinberg Carlos Perez Troy Ratfliff Lisa Schuchart Richard Van Evera

VISIT THE COMMISSION WEBSITE BY CLICKING HERE