THE COMMISSION CONNECTION

JUNE 2017

CHARTER COMMUNITY CORNER

100 Percent of Southland College Prep Seniors Accepted to College

Click here to read more.



WHAT'S NEW AT THE COMMISSION?

WE NEED YOUR FEEDBACK

In preparation for the Commission Collaborative workshop for the new school year, your input is very important to us. Please click <u>here</u> and answer a few questions to help us better support your school.





Mastery Academy Charter School submitted an appeal to the Commission on May 15th.

The proposal for the Maywood charter school will be voted on at the Commission meeting in July.

As communicated during the May 24th webinar, a copy of the FY17 audit memo can be found here.

Reminder: FY17 Audits are due by December 1st.





Since the Commission Connection will be taking a break during the summer, we recommend you add

Motion Leadership by Michael Fullan to your list of summer reading.

Click here to "read" more.

OTHER CHARTER NEWS

HB768 UPDATE

The bill was voted out of the Senate Committee on May 19. It is now headed to the Governor's desk

ISBE INFO



As a part of ISBE's CSP Grant, schools will be asked to complete a short surveyfor data collection that will be used to inform potential professional developmentopportunities. Please be on the lookout for the survey from the Charter Schoolsteam at ISBE in the coming weeks!

ISBE's Charter Schools page now has a Best Practice Corner. Check it out here (https://www.isbe.net/Pages/BestPracticeCorner.aspx), feel free to use any great ideas that you see on the page, and do nothesitate to reach out to charter@isbe.netif you would like to include any practices of your own!

For ISBE Superintendent Tony Smith's Weekly Message, click <u>here.</u>

UPCOMING DATES AND EVENTS



Commission staff will offer office hours June 5 - 8 to dicuss the amendments to the Accountability System.

If you would like to schedule office hours, please send an email to SCSC.CommissionSchools@illinois.gov.



The Final 2016-17 SchoolCalendar is now available via the Public School Calendar on IWAS. Finalschool calendars must be completed and submitted by the *last day ofschool.*

Next Commission Meeting Tuesday, June 20, 2017 Michael A. Bilandic Building 160 N. LaSalle Street 3 - 6PM 2017 Special Education
Directors' Conference
July 19 - 21, 2017
For more information, click here.

August 1, 2017
Q1 Enrollment Certification Forms are Due



OPPORTUNITIES



POSSE Nominations Now Open Until June 12

Nominations are open NOW for rising seniors. Please review the information below and contact a member of the Posse team with questions or concerns. **Do not miss this opportunity to nominate your students!**

To be eligible, a high school senior MUST:

- Be nominated by their high school or a community-based organization.
- Be in the first term of their senior year in high school. (Rising Senior)
- Demonstrate leadership within their high school, community or family.
- Demonstrate academic potential.
- The Posse Scholarship is **neither a minority nor a need-based scholarship** and is open to students of all backgrounds.

Links to More Information:

<u>Posse Partner Colleges & Universities</u> <u>Posse Foundation, Inc Website & More Information</u>

Chicago State University is hosting a freeTrauma Informed Schools Training on June 12-13 or June 21-22

Manychildren today are affected by trauma--in their homes, in their neighborhoods and in their wider communities. Such trauma exposure can have devastating and lasting effects on a child's social, emotional and academic development.

CSU invites you to participate in a projectto provide school teams knowledge and strategies

to create "trauma-informed"schools.

REGISTER HERE



The Illinois Network of Charter Schools is looking to fill two data positions.

Click here for more information.

ILLINOIS STATE CHARTER SCHOOL COMMISSION

Illinois State Charter School Commission 160 N. LaSalle Street, Suite 601 Chicago, Illinois 60601 312-814-1258

SCSC.CommissionSchools@illinois.gov

DeRonda Williams, Commission Chair
Catherine Rich, Vice Chair
Bill Farmer, Secretary
David Feinberg
Carlos Perez
Troy Ratliff
Kathryn Robbins
Lisa Schuchart
Richard Van Evera

CLICK HERE TO VISIT THE COMMISSION WEBSITE

