

Illinois State Board of Education

100 North First Street • Springfield, Illinois 62777-0001 www.isbe.net

Gery J. Chico Chairman

Christopher A. Koch, Ed.D. State Superintendent of Education

Order of the State Board of Education Pursuant to 105 ILCS 5/3A-4 (a)

Whereas each educational service region must contain at least 61,000 inhabitants effective July 1, 2015; and

Whereas before June 30, 2013, regions may have been consolidated voluntarily under Section 3A-3 or by joint resolution of the county boards of regions seeking to join a voluntary consolidation, effective July 1, 2015, to meet these population requirements; and

Whereas if, before November 1, 2013, locally determined consolidation decisions result in more than 35 regions of population greater than 61,000 each, the State Board of Education shall, before November 23, 2013, direct further consolidation, beginning with the region of lowest population, until the number of 35 regions is achieved; and

Whereas the State Board of Education adopted the following motion on November 22, 2013:

Pursuant to its obligation under 105 ILCS 5/3A-4 (a), the State Board of Education hereby recognizes the following consolidations agreed to via county board resolutions prior to June 30, 2013:

- 1. The Whiteside (ROE #55) educational service region into the Lee/Ogle (ROE #47) educational service region;
- 2. Marshall and Putnam Counties into the LaSalle (ROE #35) educational service region;
- 3. Woodford County into the Tazewell (ROE #53) educational service region;
- 4. The Henderson/Mercer/Warren (ROE #27) educational service region with the Knox (ROE #33) educational service region;
- 5. The Hancock/McDonough (ROE #26) educational service region with the Fulton/Schuyler (ROE #22) educational service region;
- 6. Logan County into the DeWitt/Livingston/McLean (ROE #17) educational service region;
- 7. Mason County into the Tazewell (ROE #53) educational service region;
- 8. Menard County into the Sangamon (ROE #51) educational service region;
- 9. Jefferson County into the Clinton/Marion/Washington (ROE #13) educational service region;
- 10. Hamilton County into the Edwards/Gallatin/Hardin/Pope/Saline/Wabash/Wayne/ White (ROE #20) educational service region;
- 11. Union and Alexander Counties into the Jackson/Perry (ROE #30) educational service region;
- 12. Johnson County into the Franklin/Williamson (ROE #21) educational service region.

The State Board of Education further directs the following consolidations:

- A. Pulaski County into the Jackson/Perry (ROE #30) educational service region;
- B. Massac County into the Franklin/Williamson (ROE #21) educational service region;
- C. The Brown/Cass/Morgan/Scott (ROE #46) educational service region with the Adams/Pike (ROE #01) educational service region;
- D. The Christian/Montgomery (ROE #10) educational service region with the Bond/Effingham/Fayette (ROE #03) educational service region.

Now therefore, be it so ordered that the aforementioned motion of the State Board of Education be adopted and communicated with all interested parties.

Date this 22nd Day of November, 2013

Ma Gery J. Chico, Board Chairman

Dr. Vinni M. Hall, Board Secretary

