Balanced Accountability Measure Committee

Chicago Location: ISBE Video Conference Room, 14th Floor, 100 W. Randolph, Chicago, IL Springfield Location: ISBE Video Conference, 3rd Floor, 100 N. First Street, Springfield, IL Marion Location: DHFS Video Conference Room, 3419 Professional Park Dr., Marion, IL

Minutes October 25, 2016 11:00 a.m.

Attending in Springfield:

Roger Eddy, Vice Chair
Angela Foxall, ISBE Staff
Amy Alsop, Illinois Federation of Teachers (Attending for Cathy Mannen)
Katherine Galloway, ISBE Staff
Aimee Gelvin, Stand for Children
Ralph Grimm, Vision 20/20
Karl Goeke, Member
Shannon Fehrolz, IARSS
Jessica Handy, Stand for Children

Attending in Chicago:

Sara Boucek, Chair
Mark Klaisner, Member
Kurt Hilgendorf, Member
Melina Wright, ISBE Staff
Bethany Lyke, Illinois Center for School Improvement
Matthew Rodriguez, Illinois Parent Teacher Association
Carolyn Welch, Illinois Association for Gifted Children
Eric Calvert, Northwestern University
Rebecca Vonderlack-Navarro, Latino Policy Forum
Ryan Crosby, Member
Larry Franks, IEA (attending in place for Mary Jane Morris)

Attending by Phone:

Daniel Booth, Member

Roll Call

Sara Boucek called the meeting to order at 11:04 a.m. Roll was called a quorum was present.

Approval of Minutes of October 3, 2016

Mark Klaisner made a motion to approve the minutes from the October 3, 2016 meeting as presented. Roger Eddy seconded the motion and it passed with a unanimous voice vote.

Report on ESSA Listening Tours

Members and ISBE staff reported on the ESSA listening tours. A summary report will be coming in the near future. The next draft plan is expected on Nov. 18.

P-20 ESSA Work

Sara and Roger reported on P-20's work that is in conjunction with ESSA. A survey was conducted amont P-20 members and Roger will share the survey results with the committee. P-20 will be voting on additional indicators soon.

ISBE ESSA Work/Task Force

Federal Department of Education ESSA Work

Discussion on Growth

John Gatta, Director of Research for the Department of Family and Community Medicine at Northwestern University and also a technical advisor to Vision 20/20 presented to the committee. He spoke about how the committee's work will influence the models that will be used to measure growth. He explained how the committee can develop a framework that will help to develop the rubric. John spoke about how certain factors may create different types of models. He encouraged the committee to think about what types of models they want the framework to lead to and what consequences different models may have. He encouraged the committee to do three things: develop a strong student growth indicator; determine whether growth should be measured against a standard for growth or measured for competitiveness; and, be transparent and have open communication about how the committee works through the process.

The committee discussed guiding principles that were developed by IEA with IFT and CTU. The guiding principles were framed around four buckets:

EB initiatives

Resource funding efficiency and efficacy

Fair and meaningful funding and accountability

Value growth measures that are fair and useful

IEA and IFT committee members will send the guiding principles for the group to review.

Eric Calvert, Associate Director for the Center for Talent Development at Northwestern University and Carolyn Welch with the Illinois Association for Gifted Children presented to the committee providing the case for a growth model that recognizes growth beyond proficiency and individual growth across the whole spectrum. Eric and Carolyn also made the following points to the committee:

Use weighted individual growth instead of growth to proficiency

Work to close the racial and economic "excellence gaps"

Use assessments that assess at the grade level of the instruction

Create a subgroup for reporting made up of local students who regularly score in the top 10%

Rubric Work for Standards 1, 2, and 3

The committee did not discuss the rubric.

Public Comment

No public comment.

Adjourn

Mark Klaisner made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Kurt Hilgendorf seconded the motion and it passed with a unanimous voice vote. The meeting adjourned at 3:30p.m.					