ILCAE/ICAE Annual Meeting Thursday, November 4, 2010 Crowne Plaza, Springfield 10:00 a.m. to 2:30 p.m.

9:30 a.m. **Registration**

Attendees – Luke Allen, Mindy Bunselmeyer, Jay Runner, Gordon Ropp, Debbie Ruff, Brenda Thompson, Senator Brad Burzynski, Andrew Thoron, Bill Schreck, Sarah Song, Harley Hepner, Al Dietz, Jess Smithers, Haley Siergiej, Beth Christian, Kay Shipman, Dean Dittmar, Jane Hemann, Connie Niemann, William Johnson, Jamie Powers, Jan Bolander, Rhodora Collins, Kelly Murphy, Jackie jones, Morgan Ott, Frank Dry, Jeff Barnes, Cody Gill, Jim Craft, Richard Treat, David Cattron, Karen Fraase, Mariah Dale-Anderson, Vern McGinnis, Don Meyer, Darrell Fesser and Mark Meurer.

10:00 a.m. Welcome & Introductions – Bill Johnson, ILCAE Vice-chair

10:15 a.m. Illinois Ag in the Classroom – Current Ag Literacy Resources
Jackie Jones, Kelly Murphy and Carrie Verner

11:00 a.m. Elementary Teacher Panel – Incorporating agricultural literacy in our classes.

Beth Christian, Cook County Jan Bolander, Sycamore, DeKalb County Jane Hemann, Mt. Olive, Macoupin County Brenda Thompson, Livingston County

- 1. Why is agricultural literacy important?
- 2. How has agricultural literacy become important to what you teach?
- 3. What agricultural literacy materials do you use and how?
- 4. Please explain some current educational trends and issues that are driving elementary education.
- 5. What is the level of student interest in agriculture?
- 6. What are the greatest needs of elementary classrooms?

Noon Lunch

1:00 p. m. **2010 ILCAE Agribusiness Award Presentation** – Bill Johnson

1:15 p.m. Agricultural Literacy County Coordinator Panel – Addressing agricultural literacy initiatives in our counties.

Haley Loy-Siergiej, Cook County Rhodora Collins, DeKalb County

Debbie Ruff, Livingston County Connie Niemann, Macoupin County

- 1. Tell us about your county program and it's focus.
- 2. What are teachers and students seeking the most or excited about?
- 3. What materials are used the most and how or why?
- 4. What's next? Where do we go from here?

2:15 p.m. Wrap-up & Adjournment

Motion by Cattron – Move to nominate Mike Massie, ILCAE Chair and Bill Johnson, ILCAE Vice Chair for a one year term. Second by Ropp. Motion passed.