{{CurrentPage.Topics.DisplayName}} {{CurrentPage.Subtopic_x0020_Level_x0020_1}}


Special Education Funding Task Force - Closed October 2010

On July 26, 2007, House Joint Resolution 0024 (HJR 24) was adopted by the Illinois General Assembly. HJR 24 creates a Task Force to study special education funding needs and to make a recommendation as to how the State can increase special education funding and ease the financial burden on school districts.

The task force consists of the State Superintendent of Education (or designee), plus 16 legislatively appointed members to include public members representing the interests of special education, administrators and services, school districts non-public special education facilities and disability advocates.

The legislation also calls for the task force to report its findings and recommendations to the Governor and the General Assembly by January 1, 2008 and provides that the task force shall be facilitated by the State Board of Education. In January, 2009, State Representative Sandra M. Pihos filed House Amendment No. 1 which changes the date by which the task force must report its findings and recommendations from January 1, 2008 to August 1, 2009.

 Task Force Members

Facilitator: Thomas B. Parrish, Ed.D., Special Education Funding Expert American Institutes of Research (AIRS)

  • Peg Agnos, Executive Director, Legislative Education Network of DuPage County
  • Dr. Frances Carroll
  • Elizabeth Conran, The Menta Group
  • The Honorable Dan Cronin, State Senator, District 21
  • Charlotte DesJardins, Family Resource Center on Disabilities
  • The Honorable Charles A. Flowers, Ed.D., Regional Superintendent, Suburban Cook County
  • Elizabeth Hanselman (Designee), Assistant Superintendent, Illinois State Board of Education
  • Bridget Helmholz, Governmental Affairs Consultant, Illinois Association of Special Education Centers
  • Dr. Christopher A. Koch, Ed.D., State Superintendent of Education
  • Roxanne Kovacevich, Executive Director, Lockport Area Special Education Cooperative
  • The Honorable Kimberly Lightford, State Senator, District 4
  • Sally Masear, Director of Special Education, Tazewell Mason County Special Education Cooperative
  • Scott Pasley, Principal, Greenville Elementary School
  • The Honorable Sandra M. Pihos, State Representative, District 42
  • The Honorable Kathleen A. Ryg, State Representative, District 59
  • Michael Schack, Executive Director, Joseph Academy
  • Cathy Ficker Terrill, President and CEO, Ray Graham Association
  • Dr. Sonya Whitaker, Director for Academic Improvement, Schaumburg School District 54​

 Final Task Force Report—September 2010


There are no meetings scheduled at this time.

* * * This page has been archived. The content on this page may no longer be in effect. * * *

Contact Information