For Immediate Release
Thursday, September 26, 2019

Twenty-five Illinois schools receive prestigious 2019 National Blue Ribbon Schools award

​Selective annual award from U.S. Department of Education recognizes schools for academic excellence  

SPRINGFIELD – The U.S. Department of Education today announced the 2019 National Blue Ribbon Schools, naming 25 Illinois elementary, middle, and high schools among recipients of the prestigious award. The diverse awardees include an elementary school with less than 200 students and a high school with more than 4,000 students. Sixteen are public schools, and nine are nonpublic schools. Two schools received recognition for their exemplary progress in closing achievement gaps among student groups. Twenty-three schools received recognition for overall exemplary academic performance.

“We are very proud of our 2019 Blue Ribbon Schools for exemplifying Illinois’ commitment to equity and excellence,” said State Superintendent of Education Dr. Carmen I. Ayala. “Illinois’ Blue Ribbon Schools are nationwide leaders in academic achievement. They challenge students to think critically about today’s and tomorrow’s issues and equip students with the skills they need to thrive. To the teachers, staff, administrators, students, families, and volunteers whose passion and drive make their schools great, congratulations on a well-deserved recognition.”

U.S. Secretary of Education Betsy DeVos will honor the 2019 National Blue Ribbon Schools in Washington, D.C., on Nov. 14 and Nov. 15. 

  • Adlai E. Stevenson High School in Lincolnshire
  • Alphonsus Academy & Center For The Arts in Chicago
  • Banner Elementary School in Dunlap
  • Bannockburn School in Bannockburn
  • Columbus Elementary School in Edwardsville
  • Eastview Elementary School in Algonquin
  • Glen Oaks Elementary School in Hickory Hills
  • Hawthorn Elementary School South in Vernon Hills
  • Ivy Hall Elementary School in Buffalo Grove
  • Ivy Hill Elementary School in Arlington Heights
  • Kingsley Elementary School in Naperville
  • Madison Elementary School in Hinsdale
  • Maine South High School in Park Ridge
  • Old St. Mary's School in Chicago
  • Our Lady of Mount Carmel Academy in Chicago
  • Prescott Elementary School in Chicago
  • Roslyn Road Elementary School in Barrington
  • Saint Benedict Preparatory School in Chicago
  • Saint Raymond School in Mount Prospect
  • Saints Cyril and Methodius School in Lemont
  • St. Athanasius School in Evanston
  • Timothy Christian High School in Elmhurst
  • Tri-Valley Middle School in Downs
  • Wheaton Academy in West Chicago
  • William Fremd High School in Palatine
The U.S. Department of Education began the National Blue Ribbon Schools Program in 1982 to bring public attention to exemplary schools in the United States and to facilitate communication and the sharing of best practices within and among schools. The coveted award affirms the hard work of educators, families, and communities in creating safe and welcoming schools where students master challenging and engaging content.